As well as the Factory Default setting, which is the one that will open when you instantiate a plug-in, you can also have a User Default setting. Once you have the correct setting, select Set As User Default from the Plug-in Presets menu, and you will see that you now have a User Default above the Factory Default. 


After doing this it will be possible to make a plug-in open with the User Default applied, rather than the Factory Default set by the plug-in manufacturer. To do this, from the Plug-in Presets menu, select the User setting as the Default from the Setting Preferences. This can be especially helpful for metering plug-ins, where you might want the plug-in to open with a specific setting to meet the metering standards. etc.


imageimage